Bethlehem    Lutheran    Church

Member of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Staff & Leadership

Pastor – The Rev. Douglas J. Johnson

I have served at Bethlehem Lutheran Church since the fall 1988 as its called and installed pastor.  Ordained in May of 1988; I am a graduate of Carthage College (B.A. 1975) and the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago (M.Div., 1988).


I regularly lead worship and preach, perform weddings and funeral, counsel, visit the sick, work with the youth and in general give direction to the mission and ministry of the Bethlehem Family of God.  I am available for consultation, discussion and dialogue on issues of faith and life.

During my ministry I have served in a number of synodical and community positions.  Currently I am the Secretary of the Northern Great Lakes Synod and serve on the Synod Council and the Synod Executive Committee.  I am also chair of the Northern Great Lakes Synod Constitution Committee.


In the Florence community I am currently Chair, of the Florence County Emergency Planning Committee, and serve as the Chief Deputy in Florence County Coroner’s Office.  I recently retired from the Florence Rescue Squad where I served for 23 years as an Emergency Medical Technician and held several offices including Secretary and Treasurer.


I was born in Elgin IL and grew up in Lombard, IL where I graduated from Glenbard East High School.  After college I returned to Lombard and worked for three years as a Commercial Loan Auditor for the Lake Shore National Bank in Chicago, and then for six years in an accounting capacity for the Metropolitan Lumber Company of Oak Brook, IL before entering seminary in the fall of 1984.  During my years between college and seminary I was very active in almost all facets of my home congregation, Holy Trinity Lutheran Church in Lombard, IL.  I am married to Elaine and we have one grown son, Sam.

Contact Pastor Doug

Click to edit table header
Office Phone:
(715) 528-4851
Home Phone:
(715) 528-4458
Cell Phone:
(715) 938-0962

Congregation Council Members

Click to edit table header
Bob Friberg  (2022)
Vice President:
Barbara Marden  (2022)
Denise Foltz  (2019)
Kay Campbell  (2019)
Melissa Lison  (2020)
Tina Rittenhouse  (2020)
Rev. Douglas Johnson